.

State To Review Route 114: Should There Be Crosswalks? [POLL]

Mass Department of Transportation will be reviewing safety at Route 114 after a pedestrian was struck and killed last week.

After a while walking on Route 114 last week, the Massachusetts Department of Transportation (Mass DOT) will be conducting a study to observe the safety issues on the state roadway.

“The continue to investigate the crash Wednesday night on Route 114 in Danvers,” Michael Verseckes, MassDOT spokesman, said in a statement. “Once the investigation is complete, MassDOT will conduct a full safety review of this intersection to determine whether any safety improvements are necessary.”

Verseckes told the Boston Globe that MassDOT will review the timing of the road’s traffic signals, its sightlines and whether or not crosswalks would disrupt the flow of traffic.

Danvers Police Captain Patrick Ambrose told the Globe the five-lane state roadway was never meant to be "pedestrian friendly."

On Wednesday, Feb. 22, 44-year-old Danvers resident Christopher Schlosser, was on Route 114 Westbound, in front of the .

In response to the fatal accident, Danvers Patch's Facebook page readers commented on the lack of crosswalks on the dangerous stretch.

Janet Blum Ibanez said, "I live on 114 and I see people trying to cross on a daily basis. I don't understand why there are no cross walks."

"Andover Street needs crosswalks every 1/2 mile," Matthew Swift added.

For some, the idea of a crosswalk on an already dangerous intersection would only encourage more pedestrians. 

Patricia Forrant Hale responded to Ibanez, "Because it is so busy a roadway. With 2 lanes in each direction. Why would someone be trying to cross?"

Take our poll and let us know if you think Route 114 should have crosswalks in the comments.

Janet Blum Ibanez February 29, 2012 at 12:19 PM
Why couldn't they install pedestrian lights and crosswalks at the lights that are already there.That wouldn't interfere with the flow of traffic and the people who would like to get across can do safely.
David P McKenna February 29, 2012 at 12:28 PM
114 is a dangerous road, due to the volume of traffic it has to carry. Even with crosswalks, pedestrians will still be taking their lives in their hands, because there are too many idiots running lights out there. FOUR of my neighbors are among the statistics of many people killed on this road, which I LIVE on, and have to drive on to get anywhere. Pedestrian bridges, though expensive, would be safer, but people will continue to play Russian roulette with the traffic, and cross wherever they are, rather than walking a 1/4 mile to a crosswalk or bridge. Dave Mckenna
Janet Blum Ibanez February 29, 2012 at 12:50 PM
I agree. I also live on 114 and would never even think of crossing it. I have seen a few accidents infront of my house because some people think it's a speedway.I live near the lights at Palmer Ave and I drive my car to go across the street to I Party or Trader Joes. I Just think it would be a little safer for those ones who do want to cross to atleast have an option to go to the nearest light and cross safely.
Jennifer Johnson February 29, 2012 at 01:34 PM
"For some, the idea of a crosswalk on an already dangerous intersection would only encourage more pedestrians." To what? Leave their houses? I guess people who don't own cars have no right to venture out into the world, at least not to the businesses on 114. I believe everyone should be encouraged to be a pedestrian more often. For health reasons, for environmental reasons, for financial reasons... If you have the ability to walk somewhere, then you should walk there. And there should be crosswalks, bridges, whatever is necessary to allow and yes, encourage, you to do so.
Michelle Gilliss February 29, 2012 at 03:35 PM
There are several overpass bridges in place, the railroad bridge and route 1 and route 95 overpasses-Pedestrian bridges along these structures make sense, and I believe would be used, in conjunction with a few crosswalks at traffic lights going towards either direction, Peabody and Middleton. Someone has to come up with a solution.
Buddy February 29, 2012 at 04:29 PM
When I didn't have a car I walked on that road a couple times. It only took me 2 times to realize to never do it again. Mostly cause of not many sidewalks, and how hard it is to cross the street. And how crazy some people drive. But every city people drive nuts. But I live right off 114 and I like to walk around instead of driving sometimes. So it would be nice to see some improvement. And maybe I would walk/bike more.
Maggie February 29, 2012 at 04:31 PM
I am going to have to say no on pedestrian crosswalks. I think people will have a false since of security when crossing a very busy highway that has 4 lanes, make it 5 lanes when you include the turn lane! I would like to see the rail trail bridge made into a user friendly overpass, but it will require better access perhaps stairs and then when you get across the street where you going??? because I don't think there are sidewalks on both sides of the road. It's definitely not a road made with pedestrians in mind.
Phil Strauch February 29, 2012 at 04:34 PM
Our national dependence on the automobile to get from one place to another ...even when its under a half mile is dumbfounding ... We need to choose wider sidewalks and narrower roads ...
Sinical-one March 01, 2012 at 06:12 AM
How about a cross walk on route 95? Better yet route 128 needs one too
Jennifer Johnson March 01, 2012 at 12:55 PM
114 isn't comparable to 95 and 128. 114 is LOADED with stores and restaurants, 95 and 128 aren't. A road full of stores should be pedestrian friendly because people who don't have cars need to run errands, too. 95 and 128 are what you should be driving on when you aren't in need of any of the businesses on 114. Stop using 114 as a shortcut to these highways and it would be less of a problem for people to cross who do want to use these businesses.
David P McKenna March 01, 2012 at 02:08 PM
Obviously Routes 128 and I95 are different from 114 (and I believe pedestrians are PROHIBITED from both highways), but Rt 114 is hardly used as a SHORTCUT between said Highways: it is in fact the only east/west highway in the area. People take "shortcuts" through the neighborhood streets to AVOID Rt 114, due to the traffic and safety concerns. The only way to have SAFE crosswalks on 114, would be to have ALL traffic stop for a dedicated Pedestrian phase, which would back up traffic worse (as happens in Danvers Square), increasing driver frustration, leading to more vehicles running red lights and MORE danger to pedestrians. And MORE traffic spilling over into the neighborhoods as drivers circumvent the resulting gridlock. Pedestrian overpasses would be safe, though expensive, but would pedestrians walk a few hundred yards out of their way to use one, of continue to Jaywalk? There are no simple solutions. I speak as a former traffic commissioner (Selectman) and as a former member of a state task force that studied the Rt 1/114 corridor for almost 10 years. And Traffic has increased significantly since that time, though the Road is safer than it was before the installation of several traffic signals to slow down traffic and the center left turn lane.
Jennifer Johnson March 01, 2012 at 03:45 PM
Of course 114 is used as a shortcut. People use it all the time to avoid having to go south on 128 to go North on 95 and 93.
Buddy March 02, 2012 at 02:01 AM
Sinical-one if you mean cross walks for deer on route 95 than yeah.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »